Author Topic: temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4  (Read 24101 times)

Offline PatmanSan

  • Administrator
  • Rank: Private
  • *****
  • Posts: 2527
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2008, 09:25:50 pm »
So all mappers should include something like this in the map.csv

For urban style:
ignore,common_mp
include,mptypes_urban

For desert style:
ignore,common_mp
include,mptypes_desert

For woodland style:
ignore,common_mp
include,mptypes_woodland


Looking at the zone_source files for the stock maps in the modtools, I notice they are using several ignore statements:

ignore,code_post_gfx_mp
ignore,common_mp
ignore,localized_code_post_gfx_mp
ignore,localized_common_mp


This also means that my suggestion in http://www.mycallofduty.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1570&highlight=soldiertype won´t work, unless the mod includes all mptypes in the mod´s csv, like this:

include,mptypes_urban
include,mptypes_desert
include,mptypes_woodland

But, as marc stated, this will increase the mod´s size with about 8 MB.

Offline dutch

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 160
    • http://www.thedukesclan.nl
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2008, 06:01:56 pm »
I have posted this link at codutility  :D

Offline PvtWhoOkid

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 425
    • http://www.tya-clan.com
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2008, 09:10:29 pm »
mp_pk_harbor <--- working with extreme after this fix. :twisted:  :twisted:

Offline 4morirabbit

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 119
    • http://www.4mori.biz
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #18 on: January 30, 2008, 09:26:06 pm »
I'll add this just as we have the things the right way :D

Setting up factions

Faction sets in a MP CoD4 game are either Marines vs. Opfor, or SAS vs. Spetsnaz.


Marines vs. Opfor


Add the following lines to your map’s GSC file:

game["allies"] = "marines";
game["axis"] = "opfor";
game["attackers"] = "axis";
game["defenders"] = "allies";
game["allies_soldiertype"] = "desert";
game["axis_soldiertype"] = "desert";


Add the following to your map's CSV file:

include,mptypes_desert


SAS vs. Spetsnaz


Add the following lines to your map’s GSC file:

game["allies"] = "sas";
game["axis"] = "russian";
game["attackers"] = "axis";
game["defenders"] = "allies";
game["allies_soldiertype"] = "woodland";
game["axis_soldiertype"] = "woodland";


Add the following to your map's CSV file:
include,mptypes_woodland
-----------------------------------------------------------
Please all mappers READ the wiki don't just surf it :lol:

Offline Joker{eXtreme}

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 6108
    • http://www.mycallofduty.com
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #19 on: January 31, 2008, 12:36:12 am »
Well, glad to see it was a Mapping problem and not a modding problem *L*

Offline codered1702

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 24
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #20 on: January 31, 2008, 06:43:20 am »
once you play your map for the first time make sure that you go back and update your zone file. I have done this and do not recieve any missing fx files when put on our server.

Sure way to tell if you need to update your zone file is if you get something like this.



Once you click on "Update Zone File" make sure that you copy and paste everything from the left side over to the right side.

Once I am done I play the map from our server and get this. Walah no more missing fx.



Hope this helps.

Offline 4morirabbit

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 119
    • http://www.4mori.biz
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #21 on: January 31, 2008, 07:35:26 am »
that's not enoght you also need to add the include line manually to your zone file :wink:  Don't forget to do it before public release

Offline codered1702

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 24
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #22 on: January 31, 2008, 08:15:28 am »
Yeah I did that before I even compiled the map. :D

Offline dutch

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 160
    • http://www.thedukesclan.nl
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #23 on: January 31, 2008, 04:54:07 pm »
Anyone who makes a map work get capt .com from codutility to update the map you got working with extreme it would save others a lot of problems.

See

Codutility

Before any overreacting moderator sees this link dont remove it as extreme is advertised there  :D

Offline PatmanSan

  • Administrator
  • Rank: Private
  • *****
  • Posts: 2527
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #24 on: January 31, 2008, 05:19:01 pm »
codutililty is in our Affiliates list

Offline Tally

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 65
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #25 on: February 01, 2008, 12:44:07 am »
I was drawn attention to this thread by Whookid

This is something I posted over at Raiders Gaming Network:

(Speaking about mp_pk_harbor)

There was no need to add models to your mod.ff - all you had to do is this:

1. Create a GSC file and copy/paste this into it:

Quote
main()
{

   maps\mp\_load::main();
   maps\mp\_compass::setupMiniMap("compass_map_mp_pk_harbor");
   ambientPlay("ambient_crash");

   game["allies"] = "marines";
   game["axis"] = "opfor";
   game["attackers"] = "axis";
   game["defenders"] = "allies";
   game["allies_soldiertype"] = "desert";
   game["axis_soldiertype"] = "desert";

   setdvar( "r_specularcolorscale", "1" );

   setdvar("r_glowbloomintensity0",".5");
   setdvar("r_glowbloomintensity1",".5");
   setdvar("r_glowskybleedintensity0",".3");
   setdvar("compassmaxrange","1900");

}


2. Name the GSc file mp_pk_harbor.gsc.

3. Place that in the X4 IWD file in maps\mp

Fixed.

If you take the route of bloating mod.ff, you will crash the mod on certain maps like citystreets and crossfire, as these load hundreds of models.

This was discovered by both Joker and myself during Beta testing the tools.

There is - wait for it - a ceiling of 10 meg for mod.ff. Once you go beyond that, the game wont even load.

This means bye-bye any Total Conversions as they would hit 10 meg in no time. So, bye-bye Heat of Battle! It just wont happen until IW extend the life of mod.ff.

I reported it to IW. Confirmed. What did they say? Unlikely to ever get extended as it would take a re-compile of the whole game from source.

Offline Joker{eXtreme}

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 6108
    • http://www.mycallofduty.com
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #26 on: February 01, 2008, 12:49:44 am »
@Tally
#1 -- now your post kind of leads me to believe that you don't feel welcome here anymore?  I really hope that is not the case

#2 -- WOW -- Very nice Tally!!!!!!!!!  :D

Offline Tally

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 65
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #27 on: February 01, 2008, 12:53:07 am »
Quote from: "{PST}*Joker"
@Tally
#1 -- now your post kind of leads me to believe that you don't feel welcome here anymore?  I really hope that is not the case

#2 -- WOW -- Very nice Tally!!!!!!!!!  :D


Huh? Not feel welcome? No, I dont feel that. If my post leads anyone to think that, then Im sorry - I dont mean that at all.

Just too busy these days to come here.

================

The only drawback about the above method is that it sometimes requires a memory dump of the level GSC, as the authors dont always cooperate and hand them out (couldnt get one from Marshall for Harbor).

Also, doing this means you dont get the right team (which is the troublesome SAS vs Spatsnez).

================

As to the mapping problem - the creators are mistaking adding the mptyps to their load CSV file.

I have opened a few of the abbarant maps, and found that the authors have inserted the mptypes into the CSV file that goes into the load IWD file.

They need to be educated to insert it into their maps CSV file - the one that builds their fast files.

================

If these maps are run with a mod without any fix, the announcements are all nerfed up. You only get to choose Marines vs Opfor, yet the callouts are for SAS and Spatsnez.

So, its in the interests of mappers to get this sorted ASAP

Offline Joker{eXtreme}

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 6108
    • http://www.mycallofduty.com
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #28 on: February 01, 2008, 12:56:06 am »
Quote from: "Tally"

Huh? Not feel welcome? No, I dont feel that. If my post leads anyone to think that, then Im sorry - I dont mean that at all.

Just too busy these days to come here.



*whew*  Ok m8, I was getting worries cause I haven't seen hide nor hair of you in a loooooooooooooong time it seems *L*

Offline Tally

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 65
temp fix for missing fx for players with custom maps cod4
« Reply #29 on: February 01, 2008, 01:00:59 am »
Quote from: "{PST}*Joker"
Quote from: "Tally"

Huh? Not feel welcome? No, I dont feel that. If my post leads anyone to think that, then Im sorry - I dont mean that at all.

Just too busy these days to come here.



*whew*  Ok m8, I was getting worries cause I haven't seen hide nor hair of you in a loooooooooooooong time it seems *L*


Mate  - Im so busy Im actually not enjoying it at the moment. :(

I spend all my time doing support for what Ive already put out, or for the custom map cock-ups, that I dont have any time to develope new stuff.

I think the only thing to do is literally lock myself away from the internet for a few weeks, and get down to finishing the "save weapons selections" thing I've nearly gotten to work.

Then there's the persistant rank thing only half finished.