Author Topic: Zombie dogs in mp?  (Read 1876 times)

Offline LoneStar

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Zombie dogs in mp?
« on: July 28, 2009, 10:42:05 pm »
Ok, I have heard that you can use the zombie dogs in mp. They only show if you're being attacked as they are enemy dogs - not the ones you send after them, which are the standard German Shepard dogs.

The code that that's suppose to go in the server config file:

Code: [Select]
set use_zombie_dog 1
Is this possible, or is it just a bunch of bs floating around.

EDIT: This suppose to work in a non modded server.

Offline Joker{eXtreme}

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 6108
    • http://www.mycallofduty.com
Re: Zombie dogs in mp?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2009, 08:24:20 am »
Have you tried it on a stock server yet?

Offline LoneStar

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Zombie dogs in mp?
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2009, 07:07:15 pm »
Yeah, our clan leader put the code in the the server config to see what happened. When the dogs were called, the players on the side that was being attacked got an error and booted from the game. Our leader forgot exactly what the error was, so he is going to get back with me tonight about it. I will post back with the info I get.

Offline DoomSlayer

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 506
    • http://www.pmcod.com
Re: Zombie dogs in mp?
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2009, 10:30:06 pm »
give this skin a try

i done a little work on the eyes but havent got then to look 100% evil yet but here you go fell free to work on it and make them look more evil



http://www.yourfilehost.com/media.php?cat=other&file=zombie_dog_skin.rar


 :D

Offline LoneStar

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Zombie dogs in mp?
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2009, 12:49:23 pm »
Thanks for the image Doom, but this would require a mod and our squad doesn't want to run a mod.

Anyways, this is the code from dogs.gsc as posted from another forum:

Code: [Select]
level.friendlyDogModel = "german_shepherd";
    if(GetDvar("use_zombie_dog") != "")
    {
       level.enemyDogModel = "zombie_wolf";
    }
    else
    {
       level.enemyDogModel = "german_shepherd_black";
    }


So, in the above code ---  if(GetDvar("use_zombie_dog") != "") checks to see if dvar is set then the game will use the dogmodel "zombie_wolf" right? So putting the code "set use_zombie_dog 1" in your server config should allow the zombie dogs in mp without running a mod, unless "set use_zombie_dog 1" is not the right code to use.

Offline Joker{eXtreme}

  • Rank: Private
  • *
  • Posts: 6108
    • http://www.mycallofduty.com
Re: Zombie dogs in mp?
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2009, 12:53:34 pm »
You are correct m8

However, this is all under the assumption that the above xmodels, their parts, aswell as the material files and iwi images are compiled into the MP game.

I would suspect they are NOT which explains why your friend had the game crash, because that codes calls for a component that is not available in the stock MP game.

If my assumptions are correct, then the only way to get it to work is with a mod.